Healthy Food

Slice of Heaven

This past weekend was a stressful one to say the least. Between looking for a new job and trying not to murder my roommate, my emotions were all over the place. Lucky for me, I have that one friend who always happens to call at just the right time.

She says “Come over! I’m making Pizza!”
… Um say no more.

It was the perfect excuse to chat it up with my bestie while eating away my worries. The best part about my bestie, is that when she say’s “I’m cooking” one thing I don’t have to worry about is putting on a little extra weight just to have a girls night in. My girl is a healthy eating, lean body sculpting angel who I would probably hate if I didn’t love her so much because she’s so damn perfect.

As soon as I walked in she poured the wine, we clanked glasses and began our girls night in with a healthy dose of gossip and catching up. As the wine began to set in, I wandered over to her in the kitchen to see what she was whipping up.

Behold, the tastiest homemade vegetarian pizza ever!

I watched her smooth the quinoa spread she had prepared in the blender onto the parchment paper before throwing it in the oven to create our crust. It wasn’t even time for another glass yet, as she began sauteing the cubed tomatoes, onions, garlic, and spices to make the sauce. Yes, it smelled as wonderful as it sounds! Then she began scooping it in the blender to puree slice-of-heaveneverything together into a creamy sauce. We were so caught up in conversation that I didn’t even notice she had taken the crusts out of the oven until she began spooning and spreading the thick tomato paste into a 1/2 inch layer of creamy goodness. Now, time for the fun part! Red onion, chopped broccoli, mushrooms, tomato and of course chunks of parmesan cheese crumbles; the kind of toppings you don’t have to feel guilty for piling on high were then loaded up onto our pizza pies and placed back into the oven just long enough to pour a second glass.

Needless to say, my weekend woes were wooed away one slice at a time until both pizzas were reduced to quinoa crumbs.

The only thing better than pizza, is pizza you don’t have to feel guilty about eating.
Simple and tasty! Wanna give it a go? Check out this “how to” video from my bestie’s website: LIMABEAN LIFESTYLE

 

Leave a Reply

